You are here

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Backing up Aperture Library with TimeMachine #1
Lisa Tauzell's picture
by Lisa Tauzell
March 19, 2012 - 10:49am

Hi, I am new to Aperture (moved from a managed iPhoto library to a referenced Aperture library in December) and I recently had an EHD fail and the internal drive on my MacBook Pro was corrupted and had to be wiped clean. I had everything backed up, but I'm questioning my backup strategy and making sure that it is really backing everything up. I have my Aperture library and all the referenced masters on a 1TB EHD (a new one, since the old one was failing), and I plug this drive into my desktop iMac, and access it through our home network with my MacBook. TimeMachine runs on the iMac and backs up the EHD. We also use CrashPlan to backup the iMac and the EHD. I moved my old iPhoto library (which includes all my photos through December) to a different EHD and put it at my parent's house. All these photos have also been moved to Aperture.

Here is my question: When I look at my Aperture library in Time Machine (either in Finder or through the Time Machine app), it is much smaller in file size than the Aperture library on my EHD. The EHD library is 44.81 GB and the Time Machine one is 27.7 GB. I know all my photos are safe because they are in a separate file structure, but I would be devastated if I lost all the time I'd spent rating, tagging, and adding Faces and Places to my photos. I tried restoring the 27.7 GB Aperture library from Time Machine, and then opened it with Aperture and it appears to have all my photos, ratings, smart albums, etc. How can that be? What does Time Machine do with an Aperture library? Is this the best backup method? Would I be better off with the vaults and would that require yet another EHD?

Thomas Emmerich's picture
by Thomas Emmerich
March 20, 2012 - 12:30pm

Lisa,