You are here

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Best program for backing up referenced masters #1
Tony Schönberg's picture
by Tony Schönberg
March 11, 2013 - 7:50am

I've been searching the forum regarding this and I understand there are several options.
I'm new to mac and aperture and I am just setting up my aperture library, so please forgive my ignorance.

Have 350Gb of pictures on a NAS stored in orderly fashion; YY/MM/DD [description] witch I am now importing as referenced masters on an external USB 3 drive.
The aperture library is backed up by time machine to my NAS (I hope) and I would like my referenced masters backed up there to.
I want my referenced masters backup on my NAS in the same YY/MM/DD order as on my external drive.
Darn, I just want a program that copy my external drive to a folder on my NAS on a regular basis.

What program should I use? Am I thinking right here?
Any advise helpful!

/Tony

Butch Miller's picture
by Butch Miller
March 11, 2013 - 8:06am

I have been using Carbon Copy Cloner for years with great success … which up until recently was free or donation ware … I have heard good things about Chronosync as well.

Both options do a great job of duplicating your exact file/folder structure of your working drive to your backup drive … as well as building bootable clones of your computer’s startup drive. If your working copy would fail, you can just point Aperture to your backup and continue on with your work.