You are here

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Changing time format in file name? #1
Debbie's picture
by Debbie
September 19, 2011 - 12:49pm

Hi, I'm wondering if the 24 hour format or military time I think it's called, is the only time format option we have for file names? When I rename on import it's added automatically to the file name in that format and I can't find a way to change it. I'm not very good with that format and don't like having to try to convert it in my mind when I see it. I may start leaving the time out if I can't change it to a format familiar to me, such as 5:45:30. TIA!

~Debbie

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
September 21, 2011 - 9:50am

Debbie,

Is that 5:45:30 am or pm? ;-)

I don’t think you can change it. The point being of course that without the AM/PM, you don’t know which it is.

Of course all these naming concepts are just suggestions; if it doesn’t work for you, no need to include it. In my logic, by having the date and time as YYYY-MM-DD-HH-MM-SS you have a perfect chronological order forced.

-Joseph @ApertureExpert

@PhotoJoseph
— Have you signed up for the mailing list?

Debbie's picture
by Debbie
September 21, 2011 - 9:54am

Ahhh… I see your point. That’s why you’re the expert and I’m not. LOL! Okay, I think I’ll leave the date out of my file naming b/c it really makes me nuts in that format. ;)

Thanks!

~Debbie

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
September 21, 2011 - 10:18am

Debbie,

No problem. Just keep in mind that if you’re shooting with multiple cameras, then you may end up getting photos out of order without the HHMMSS in there. If you just use one camera, it shouldn’t be an issue.

-Joseph @ApertureExpert

@PhotoJoseph

Debbie's picture
by Debbie
September 21, 2011 - 1:17pm