You are here

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
Goodby Aperture; hello Mylio! (with Photos on the side) #1
Elizabeth Ingraham's picture
by Elizabeth Ingraham
June 27, 2015 - 7:38pm

As will be clear, I am not a photographer. I’m a studio artist, professor and researcher and I do use photos, in my teaching, to document my studio process, to document my completed art work, and even sometimes as the images themselves. The resources here have been so helpful to me, I wanted to share my experiences with Mylio in hopes they may be of use to others.

I bought Aperture when it first came out ($499!), used and abandoned it and then began using it again exclusively in 2007. I loved the features I understood, especially its editing and export features, but never made the effort to become an expert user. I took the demise of Aperture as my call to clean up my Aperture library. And I decided to edit and consolidate my no-longer-used iPhoto library AND all the folders of images scattered on my external drives.

So, for a month (probably longer but I’ll only admit to a month) I deleted duplicates and unusable photos, created archives of teaching topics (student studio work), created albums of my art work documentation and also labeled a few thousand travel photos in Aperture that are part of a six-year art project. That labeling involved looking at trip logs and at times consulting googlemaps.com and using image times to calculate just which rural town in was in. 

I also thought about my needs and my workflow and I made a decision to use Photos and iCloud for images that I use as lecture resources and as inspiration for my studio work, together with my current personal photos. (See below for more about Photos.) 
The result was that I culled about 18,000 photos down to some photo archives (10+ years of student work which I will access infrequently and can eventually trash), together with 2000 photos in Photos and 6500 photos in Mylio.