You are here

18 posts / 0 new
Last post
Importing digital videos into Aperture 3.1.1 problem #1
Tom J's picture
by Tom J
January 12, 2011 - 2:43am

I’m new to the Mac World and now have a MacBook Pro with the most current OS and plenty of RAM.

I can successfully import Digital Video files from an SDHC card through a Card Reader onto an external hard drive and Edit the videos in IMovie or create a Movie in IMovie.

What I’m trying to do is get them into Aperture 3.1.1 so I can create a slide show with mixed media. The minute I try to import any one of the video clips into a given Library the pinwheel starts spinning and it goes on indefinitely before I eventually quit the application.

This same thing has happened whether taking digital video files from a Droid X phone or the Panasonic HDC-SD60 digital video camera.

I’ve repaired the database and done the following but keep getting the same results.

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
January 12, 2011 - 3:39am

Tom,

You’re trying to import the videos into Aperture from where; from the same SDHC card/card reader as you imported into iMovie, or are you trying to import already-imported-to-iMovie movies? (lots of repeated words there but I think they make sense!)

Have you tried importing into a brand new library? If not, try that to eliminate the possibility of a problem with your existing Library (go File > Switch to Library > Other/New… and create a new temp one).

If possible, try on another machine as well. The fact that you’re having the same issue with multiple devices is certainly odd.

cheers
-Joseph @ApertureExpert

@PhotoJoseph
— Have you signed up for the mailing list?

Tom J's picture
by Tom J
January 12, 2011 - 4:30am

With the video files I parked them on my external drive. All I’m saying is I can import them in into IMovie without problems. When I try to import them into a new Aperture Library from the external drive (not from IMovie per se) I see the spinning pinwheel.