You are here

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Memory required for previews? #1
MiniD3's picture
by MiniD3
August 11, 2013 - 9:47am

Hi guys,
Waiting for my new iMac with 768GB SSD (FWIW, my first Mac)
Been watching many of Josephs youtube clips in preparation as I have never used Aperture before, (or Lightroom for that matter), mainly used the Nikon Capture NX2 software

Starting to get the picture that even though images may be stored on portable drives, even though they are not connected, you can still see the previews in aperture,

If one had a thousand images on preview at the highest quality,
Is there a disc space concern for previews
Regards,
Gary

David  Moore's picture
by David Moore
August 12, 2013 - 3:47am

Could be a problem when your lib gets big. But then you can move to a referenced Lib for your images and when that gets big you can delete all preview and build only the ones you need. Cheers dbm

davidbmoore@mac.com
Twitter= @davidbmoore
Scottsdale AZ

MiniD3's picture
by MiniD3
August 12, 2013 - 9:28am

Thank you
That is good news,
I have huge amount of work to do from the start,
Im going to adopt Joseph’s method of naming projects by Year Month Date etc,
Hopefully I can delete previews from old projects and only keep previews for the current year or two
….Gary

MiniD3's picture
by MiniD3
August 12, 2013 - 10:16am

Just read the archive by Joseph’s “Reducing Library Dramatically”
Not sure I understand it all but guess when I get started, some things will fall into place
….Gary

Walter Rowe's picture
by Walter Rowe
August 12, 2013 - 8:52pm

Gary .. There are “managed” libraries where your originals live inside the library itself. This makes for a clean setup. Wherever the library lives so do the masters. This also makes the library take up significantly more space.