You are here

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Newbie-ish Question: Correct Backup Procedure for Upgrade to Aperture 3 from Aperture 2 #1
Jeff Harwell's picture
by Jeff Harwell
July 2, 2013 - 8:26am

Hello everyone. I am an avid amateur photographer with about 10,000+ photographs on my 20” iMac computer (currently running OS X 10.5.8 and Aperture 2.1.4). Ok, so I'm not a newbie to photography, but for system backups I am completely a newbie. So bear with me while I explain:

In the not too distant past, I purchased an OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro 1TB external hard drive. I completed 1 backup of my entire system using Carbon Copy Cloner, which left me with 730.29 GB available on my external hard drive.

I recently switched from a Canon EOS Rebel XSi to a Canon 5D Mark II. During my most recent, and first, attempt to upload pictures onto Aperture 2 (v 2.1.4) with the CF card from the 5D, I received an error message that says “Insufficient Disk Space”. From reading other posts, and from posting on the Apple forums myself, i see that this frequently happens when there is less than 10GB of space left on the internal hard drive.

So, following the article on this website about “reducing the aperture library size”, I did a “Get Info” and found that my internal hard drive of my 20” iMac, with a capacity of 232.57 GB, only has 6.02 GB available. I also found out that my iPhoto library is at 9.3 GB; my Aperture 2.0 library is at 93.03 GB (102.36 GB combined); and my Music (iTunes) library is at 88.43 GB. That's a total used of 190.79 GB.

I also know from doing research that in order to upgrade from Aperture 2 to Aperture 3, I will first have to go from OS X 10.5.8 all the way to 10.7.5. I understand that I must first go from 10.5.8 to 10.6.2 ($19.99), then do a software update to 10.6.8, and then use the App Store to go to 10.7 in order to get Aperture 3.