You are here

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
scaling / resizing on import #1
simon lambert's picture
by simon lambert
March 21, 2012 - 6:04am

Hi all,
This is my first post and I'm new to Aperture so please be patient with me and I apologise if this has already been asked before or should have been asked in preset support but the question relates to both.
I'm trying to make the switch from Photoshop at work, to only Aperture at home.
At work I use about 5 different cameras, all with different file sizes and everything is done in Photoshop. But sometimes I take images for my own personal use, that I bring home.
I'm looking for a way to to resize smaller files and previously cropped images to 21 meg / 5616 x 3744 on Import to Aperture, to get full use of the masks in the film and funk presets and other presets as well.
I'm not really worried about quality degradation by resizing, as my first attempt by importing a file to Aperture then resizing on export, then re-importing looks great on smaller files, with the resulting workflow even adding to the overall effect as well.
Is there a way I can batch edit / resize all images on the original Import rather than doubling up on my files.
I'm trying to do an Aperture only workflow for this, as I'm usually over Photoshop by the time I get home, and only using only Aperture will help me learn how to use it fully, rather than going back to Photoshop every time I hit a hurdle.
Any ideas ??

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
March 21, 2012 - 11:51pm

Simon,

Welcome to the site!

There is no scaling tool on import, simply because the ethos of Aperture is that you bring in your image at full resolution, untouched from the original, edit as needed and export the final size that you want.