You are here

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Switching from Lightroom to Aperture #1
Daniel Basham's picture
by Daniel Basham
February 16, 2014 - 8:54pm

Hi! I am an amateur photographer that focuses on friends and family more than anything. For the last few years I have been using Lightroom 4 to organize and edit all my photos. However, as many people have stated, LR is not a great photo organizer. I have no problems with the editing capabilities, as there is more in LR than I even need. Aperture, on the other hand, appears to be great at photo organizing and overall keeping things in sync with all my Apple devices. Those 2 things are what matter most to me. So, here’s my question that I haven’t been able to find an answer to anywhere else:

How do I switch my entire LR4 library of nearly 33,000 photos to Aperture AND not lose my edits/metadata? Is it possible? If so, I am looking for step-by-step guidance. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks!

Bob Rockefeller's picture
by Bob Rockefeller
February 17, 2014 - 12:58am

Sadly Aperture cannot read Lightroom’s edits (nor can Lightroom read Aperture’s). Your basic metadata will come with the photos.

Bob

Bob
----------
Bob Rockefeller
Midway, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com

Walter Rowe's picture
by Walter Rowe
February 17, 2014 - 1:52pm

Bob is right. I took this journey a couple of years ago. All your metadata can come over if you save it to your files in Lightroom. All your adjustments will be lost. You may want to consider keeping Lightroom for your existing stuff and just using Aperture for your new work. I am still not finished with adjustments to all of the images I brought over from LR.

Butch Miller's picture
by Butch Miller
February 17, 2014 - 4:40pm

As someone who also migrated to Aperture from Lightroom in the past year, I agree with Walter. I think you will be better off using Lr to deal with legacy images, and use Aperture for all your new shoots/projects.