You are here

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Transferring photos in Aperture 3 between MacBook and iMac #1
Patricia Hansen's picture
by Patricia Hansen
April 9, 2012 - 10:05pm

I'm new to Aperture 3 and so far have not been able to find out how to transfer images from one machine to another. I understand that one way is via Photo Stream. As I understand it, only 1,000 photos can be uploaded to Photo Steam and downloaded onto other devices monthly. I appreciate that this is a lot of images per month, but my problem lies in being away from my main computer (iMac) for more than a month. Which would suggest that I would be able to only download those images taken in that month and not all that I've taken during my absents from home. Perhaps I'm not understanding Photo Stream correctly. I would be most grateful for advice on this topic as I'm leaving for vacation end of April. Thanks. Patricia

Patricia Hansen

Luke Pingel's picture
by Luke Pingel
April 11, 2012 - 12:07pm

Patricia - I have a nearly identical question. I spent a week away from my iMac with my older MacBook Pro. Over the course of the week, I downloaded my shots into the MBPro’s resident version of Aperture just like I would normally and - to my considerable surprise - when I got home to the iMac, the Aperture program there not only picked up the week’s effort in Photostream, it actually shows a nested folder exactly per my naming convention. Everything seems to be PERFECTLY in place, except it’s not. The actual photos are NOT stored in my Aperture library on the iMac, they’re still on the MBPro and I cannot get them to Import to the proper library.

Any ideas, Joseph?

PhotoJoseph's picture
by PhotoJoseph
April 12, 2012 - 3:01am

Patricia and Luke,