You are here

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
What's your preference? Create new version when making adjustments. #1
William Campbell's picture
by William Campbell
April 23, 2013 - 8:15pm

I'm curious about how many use (that is, check) the “Create new version when making adjustments” preference (under the Advanced Tab) and how many do not (leave unchecked).

I've implemented Scott Davenports Aperture workflow (http://sdaven.blogspot.com/2013/01/my-aperture-workflow-january-2013-upd…), but it works best when this preference is NOT checked. I would take the time to explain why that is only if someone is curious.

My question is why you do or do not use this preference. Personal taste, true. But do you also have reasons for using or not using.

When not checked you are in danger of accidentally deleting your original. I realize it can be retrieved, but that is not my point. For example, you import an image, select it and begin making adjustments. The adjustments show on that very same original version (or thumbnail). This is fine, and new versions can be created doing a right-click and selecting “Make new version from Original.” BUT say you later look at that adjusted version and say “I don't like it” and delete it. Suddenly you discover you have no “unadjusted” original in its place — that is, you have deleted the version AND the original since, in effect, they were the same instance of that image displayed in your browser. Again, you can retrieve the original in Aperture's trash, but that is a nuisance and you also might forget before emptying the trash.

That is why I have always used the preference to create a new version when making adjustments. Yet, sadly, it does work against the workflow mentioned above.

The benefit of using the “create new version” preference is fairly obvious — it always keeps an instance of your untouched file displayed in your browser. So, I suppose my questions is really, “Why do you NOT use that preference (if that's the case)? What benefit does it serve for you?

Thanks.

Bill

Thomas Emmerich's picture
by Thomas Emmerich
April 23, 2013 - 8:36pm

Bill,

Sounds like you are trying to make the workflow as complicated as possible.

Personally, I rarely ever create more than one version of an image so I always assume deleting a version will also delete the original.

As for why anyone would use the automatic create new version option, I suppose it would be useful if you need to track version history over time. I can’t think of a reason to do this myself.

You could keep some common version naming scheme (e.g. camera created file name) as part of every version and you’d visually see that an image you need to delete has another version based on the same original right next to it in the browser.

Thomas

Scott Davenport's picture
by Scott Davenport
April 24, 2013 - 8:52pm

Bill,

Figured I’d chime in here …. wrt versions, I work similarly to Thomas. I typically have a single version of an image. If I have the need to compare different treatments to a photo, I’ll duplicate a version on demand. With rare exception, all my versions have some adjustments applied, so the workflow and smart albums outlined on my blog remain intact.

Obviously, your desired workflow is different. It seems your more attuned to deleting a version if/when you’re unhappy with the adjustments vs. reverting to the original. And without auto-creating a version when applying adjustments set, you end up “deleting” your original. Habits are hard to break … but would remapping the keyboard shortcuts help? Make “Delete Version” (Cmd-Backspace) map to “Revert to Original”?

Thx,
-scott

William Campbell's picture
by William Campbell
April 24, 2013 - 9:09pm

Thanks Thomas and Scott. I think originally deleting an adjusted version, even if it was the only one visible for that image, resulted is a “plain” original showing in its place. At least that’s how I recall it, might even been back at v1.5, which is when I got Aperture. At some point in Aperture’s upgrading they changed that to “delete the final instance (version) and the file is gone.”

Well, regardless, I think I going to uncheck that preference and work hard to train myself to treat any one remaining version of an image (adjusted or not) as the original. This will allow your workflow (Scott) to work as intended. Otherwise, I still had thousands of “green” (adjustments needed) versions in my browser even though adjustments HAD been made on the image (just resulting in an additional version).

Thanks again for responding.

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
Passwords are case-sensitive - Forgot your password?
randomness