You are here

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Where to start? (new to Mac and Aperture) #1
scottb's picture
by scottb
February 9, 2014 - 10:31pm

I have multiple cameras, a Canon EOS400D (aka a Rebel in the US I think), a Canon S100, the wife’s Nikon point and shoot plus various phones. Was previously running only Windows machines and just imported all photos using their respective software in the “My Photos” folder - everything defaulted to creating new subfolders for each date, although the formats were different.

So, I recently bought a shiny new Macbook Pro, 13” Retina with a 512 GB SSD and 8 GB of RAM. I started iPhoto and imported my photos from my Windows machine and got a bit of a shock when they all went into one big file. Hmmm, ok, more reading and learning to do - so I read about libraries and thought ok, sounds good - then I decided that I wanted to do a bit more with my photos - they are in multiple formats from RAW to JPG, but I’m not a professional photographer so I though Aperture sounded like  it would do the job (I’m not saying that Aperture is not suited to professional photographers).

Bought the software and downloaded and installed, read a bit of the manual, started ‘er up, opened the iPhoto library, looked around and then sat and thought, I wonder if I could have done this better. Should I have left the originals outside of the library and referenced them, how should I organise projects, albums, folders, and which comes first.

So now I’m procrastinating and would welcome any hints, tips, experiences, suggestions or the like - what works for you?

thanks

Scott

Thomas Emmerich's picture
by Thomas Emmerich
February 10, 2014 - 6:38am

Here’s a lengthy article on it by Joseph at manfrottschoolofexcellence.com

Try searching for “organize” on this site for several more articles on organization.

Joseph also wrote another organization article for Photofocus.com