You are here

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Deleting originals after creating a version. #1
DANimage's picture
by DANimage
October 22, 2014 - 5:36am

Can you delete a original photo in the filmstrip after you have created a version without losing it in the library?

Frans Lichtenberg

Bob Rockefeller's picture
by Bob Rockefeller
October 22, 2014 - 11:14am

I don’t believe so. Versions are just logical copies of the original with non-destructive edits applied. They are not separate files in their own right; they continue to refer to the original, so if you deleted the RAW file, you’d be sad.

You could export the version as it’s own file in another format, JPG for example. That file would then exist on its own and no longer depend on the original RAW.

But that RAW file is, in many ways, like your negative of old. You can always go back to it and develop it differently one day with better skills of your own, enhanced abilities of the RAW conversion engine, or even another program entirely.

Bob
----------
Bob Rockefeller
Midway, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com

DANimage's picture
by DANimage
October 22, 2014 - 12:47pm

Thank you that answer my question. Don’t delete the RAW :-)

Frans Lichtenberg

Craig Andrews's picture
by Craig Andrews
October 24, 2014 - 6:40pm

I don’t want to muddy the water, but I have no problem creating a version of a Raw file (in my case a NEF (Nikon) and then deleting the original and keeping only the new version.  I did the following test.   I have Aperture set so that it does not make a new version automatically when I make an adjustment, instead the adjustment is made to the original.  I have to command Aperture (Option + V) to make a new version.   So I made adjustments to file # 500 and then made a new version of it, which Aperture labelled 500 Version 2.  I then deleted the original keeping only version 2.   I even emptied the Aperture Trash to make sure Version 2 would still be available and it was.   I went into the advanced tab of Aperture preferences and checked the box to have Aperture make a new version automatically when adjustments are made to the original.   I repeated the process by adjusting an original and this time Aperture automatically made version 2 and then I deleted the original, emptied the trash and Version 2 was still available to manipulate/adjust.    Hope I’m talking apples and apples and not apples and oranges.

I'd much rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.

Thomas Emmerich's picture
by Thomas Emmerich
October 24, 2014 - 9:27pm

I think you might be misunderstanding how Aperture works. Every image you see in Aperture is a “Version”. Each version is based on an “Original” (or “Master” as it used to be called in earlier versions of Aperture). You can have one, two, three … 1000 or more versions based on a single original.

When you create a new version, there are two options: 1. Duplicate Version takes any adjustments you’ve made and copies them as a new starting point. 2. New Version Based on Original starts from scratch.

Example: A RAW image of 2 objects. If you crop out one of the objects, then use the “Duplicate Version” command, you’ll have a 2nd image that is cropped like the first with only 1 object. If instead you select “New Version from Original” you’ll get the uncropped original with the 2 objects as the 2nd version.

The actual original is just hanging out in the background. One you delete all versions based on the original, the original will also be deleted.

Hope I didn’t make it worse.

Thomas

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
Passwords are case-sensitive - Forgot your password?
randomness