Deleting Pictures in Photos Without a Prompt Dialog
If you've been playing with Photos for OS X, you may have discovered by now that when you delete a picture, Photos always prompts you to be sure you're sure. Turns out there's a very easy way around that dialog — and if you're coming from Aperture, you already know it.
And that's a fair dialog to pop up every time. Notice the important bit about “all your devices”. It's important to know that deleting an image from your iPhone doesn't mean it's still on your desktop. Gone is gone.
Also the first time you delete an image, you'll see this dialog, telling you have you up to 40 days to change your mind:
The concept of emptying the trash in Photos is no longer necessary (although you can if you want to). When you delete an image, it goes to a “Recently Deleted” album, and each image gets a countdown. Reach 40 days, and that image or video is permanently gone.
So let's skip those dialogs
That's all well and good, but that warning dialog can be really, really tedious. Turns out though, by simply adding the Command key to Delete, you bypass it and the image goes straight to the
trash Recently Deleted.
Have you discovered any other hidden keyboard shortcuts in Photos yet?
More like this